CLIMATE + ENERGY

Blog

HB 2273 – Committee will take action Friday, Feb. 22nd
February 21, 2019

House Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications committee met Tuesday and Thursday, February 19th and 21st to hear from proponents and opponents on HB 2273, the Wind Generation Permit and Property Protection Act.  Executive Director, Dorothy Barnett submitted testimony on behalf of CEP and as a Reno County Resident. This bill would add prohibitive set backs for commercial wind turbines, and stop commercial wind development in Kansas. It also prevents local counties from making their own decisions about wind energy opportunities in their own communities.

Thanks to those of you who were able to reach out to your legislators and to those of you who submitted written and oral testimony in opposition of the bill.

Friday morning at 9:00 a.m. the Committee will discuss and take action on the bill. We will do our best to keep you posted on the outcome, but if you want to listen to the debate, tune it from the home page of the Kansas Legislature’s website or directly at this link.

House Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications Committee 

ACTION – When: Feb. 22nd @ 9:00 AM

Where: Kansas State Capitol

8th Avenue between Harrison and Van Buren

Topeka, KS 66612

Room: 281-N

If you still wish to reach out to the committee and share your thoughts before they take action, you can do so at the emails below.

Chair
Rep. Joe Seiwert joe.seiwert@house.ks.gov

Vice Chair
Rep. Mark Schreiber Mark.Schreiber@house.ks.gov

Ranking Minority Member
Rep. Annie Kuether annie.kuether@house.ks.gov

Members
House
Rep. Emil Bergquist emil.bergquist@house.ks.gov
Rep. John Carmichael  john.carmichael@house.ks.gov
Rep. Ken Corbet  ken.corbet@house.ks.gov
Rep. Tom Cox   Tom.Cox@house.ks.gov
Rep. Leo Delperdang Leo.Delperdang@house.ks.gov
Rep. Stan Frownfelter stan.frownfelter@house.ks.gov
Rep. Randy Garber randy.garber@house.ks.gov
Rep. Jim Gartner  Jim.gartner@house.ks.gov
Rep. Nick Hoheisel  Nick.Hoheisel@house.ks.gov
Rep. Marty Long  Martin.Long@house.ks.gov
Rep. Cindy Neighbor  Cindy.Neighbor@house.ks.gov

Rep. Mark Samsel  Mark.Samsel@house.ks.gov
Rep. Jack Thimesch jack.thimesch@house.ks.gov
 Rep. Kellie Warren  kellie@kelliewarrenforkansas.com

Get Kansas Climate + Energy in Your Inbox

Information, action alerts, and opportunities.

Upcoming Events

WEALTH Day 2021

WEALTH Day 2021

Join Kansans to learn about and advocate for Water, Energy, Air, Land, Transportation, and Health in Kansas WEALTH Policy UpdatesInterfaith Climate VigilVirtual Solutions ShowcaseWEALTH Panel & Dialogs with LegislatorsYouth Civic Participation PanelConnect with...

Related Articles

Share This

Share this post with your friends!